The University of Szeged is one of the flagship higher education institutes in Central Europe. It is the second largest and most highly ranked University in Hungary, with primary focus on science and medicine. SZTE is a University of National Excellence, where education and research are performed at 13 Faculties. Nanotechnology and Materials Science are core focus areas where several interdisciplinary and cross-faculty projects are carried out. The doctoral school of chemistry provides high-level training for graduate students both in Hungarian and English. The Center of Excellence for Functional Materials was established in 2017, and it provides cutting-edge resources for materials research. The Photoelectrochemistry Research Group is capable of synthesis and characterization of nanostructured electrodes and photoelectrodes. It is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities to perform top tier research in electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry.

Dr Csaba Janáky is an Associate Professor at Department of Physical Chemistry and Materials Science, University of Szeged, Hungary. He is the principal investigator of the MTA-SZTE “Momentum” Photoelectrochemistry Research Group, supported by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and the European Research Council (ERC-Starting Grant). He is an emerging expert of materials science-oriented electrochemistry and photoelectrochemistry. He has developed new electrode materials for energy applications, such as CO2 reduction, water oxidation, O2-reduction, and H2 evolution. His interest is focused on the rational design of these electrodes, after establishing structure/property relationships. He published over 80 articles in peer-reviewed journals including four reviews, two perspective, and one viewpoint article, with an overall impact factor of 500. His current research group has 5 permanent members, 4 postdocs, 5 PhD students, and 4 undergraduate students. He is member of the Editorial Advisory Board of ACS Energy Letters (a premier scientific journal of energy research), and the Young Academy of Europe.

Google Scholar